Amanda Carreras is a Gibraltarian tennis pro who has won nine singles and 14 doubles titles on the ITF tour in her career. Last year she reached her best singles ranking of world number 236.

Unfortunately Amanda sustained a wrist injury last year and after various attempts at recovery she was forced to undergo surgery on 14th November 2017.

“I was half way through a match in USA and I hit a forehand and I felt a really sharp pain on the right wrist,q it was impossible to move for the next 2 weeks”

After a very eventful year, one with many ups and downs I’ve had to cut short the season due to the wrist injury I sustained in April. I’ve tried all recovery methods possible but now the only one left is surgery. I will have an operation on the 14th November in Barcelona. I would like to thank my family and coaches ( Albert,Alfred and Ali) for all their support and for putting up with me for the last few months. I would also like to thank all of you who have helped me in some way this year and all of those who constantly support me. I promise to be back even stronger 🙂 Después de una temporada con muchos altibajos he tenido que terminar el año por una lesión de la muñeca que llevo arrastrando desde Abril, he intentado hacer todo lo posible pero la única solución es pasar por quirófano el día 14 de Noviembre en Barcelona. Quiero agradecer a mi familia, a mis entrenadores, a mis amigos y a todas las personas que me han ayudado este año. Volveré más fuerte que nunca. 💪💪💪

A post shared by Amanda ✌️ (@amandacarreras) on

GibLad caught up with Amanda as part of our series on #LlanitosAbroad to talk about leaving home to pursue her dream career as a pro tennis player.

I arrived in Barcelona at the age of 15, Barcelona is known as the tennis center in Europe

GL: Why did you leave Gib?

We left Gibraltar as my dad went for a career change and became a commercial airline pilot. I moved to Bicester,(Oxfordshire)with both my parents, for 6 years before moving on to Barcelona where I have been based for the past 12 years.

GL: When did you first realise your love for sport and tennis?

I’ve been involved in sport from a very early age. Both my mum and dad were athletes so athletics was always going to be my first sport. I remember running a mile in under 10 mins by the age of 5. I also used to play tennis in sandpits on the occasional time.

In 1999 we moved to the U.K as my dad decided on a career move. We moved to Bicester, Oxfordhire and I joined the local tennis club as well as the local athletics club. I quickly established myself as the top female athlete of my age group in the county.

But it was my quick rise in the national tennis which caught everybody by surprise. I was soon playing all the top girls in the U.K at the various National Leagues and Championships. At the age of 12 it became clear that athletics and tennis were not compatible anymore so I opted  to drop athletics,. During the next couple of years I consolidated my position within top juniors in the UK.

GL: What do you miss?

I miss my family and friends the most; in 2005 my family decided to move back home to Gibraltar.  It was obvious that in order to carry on with my tennis career moving back to Gibraltar was not an option. Therefore after much searching and getting advice my parents decided to send me to a tennis academy in Barcelona where I could combine my education with tennis. I arrived in Barcelona at the age of 15, Barcelona is known as the tennis center in Europe

GL: Where have you been since you left?

Been based in Oxfordshire and Barcelona, however I have travelled to many parts of the world as I have participated in many international tournaments in the last 10 years.

GL: What has been hardest to adjust to?

Being away from family and not being able to visit them as much as I would like to

 

GL: What are the most notable cultural differences?

Every country or place has its own cultural differences but I think South America and Africa stand out the most. Seeing the way some people are living, makes me feel how grateful we should all be for the things we take for granted.

GL: What is the best thing about being a Llanita abroad?

I am fortunate to travel the world and discover all the different places, and met different people and obviously compete at a high level in sport.

GL: What has been your proudest achievement since your move?

Winning the junior Spanish national championship in 2008, play in the qualifying tournament of Wimbledon twice and winning a round in a WTA tournament.

GL: What are you goals for the year?

First to recover 100% from my wrist injury which has kept me out of action for nearly a year now. It will take me half a year at least and then eventually reach the worlds top 200s which is where I was before getting injured.

GL: Do you see yourself staying there, or eventually coming back?

I see myself being involved in coaching at junior level where I can share my experience with kids, I still haven’t thought about where but home will always be home and one day I will eventually come back.

GL: What would you say to any Llanitos/Llanitas who are thinking of making a move abroad to travel or chase a dream or experience something new?

I think firstly you have to follow your dreams. Do something that makes you happy. You have to take risks in life to achieve something that you want. But always be positive and believe in yourself.

Click/tap here to check out the rest of our #LlanitosAbroad series.

Are you a Llanita/Llanito abroad or travelling or do you know someone that we should hear about? To get GibLad to feature you or your friend and get involved e-mail us on getinvolved@giblad.com!

Comments

comments